Club history 

Lions Club
Luxembourg International

« 50 years of action »

The Lions Club Luxembourg-International was founded in 1972 by Marcel Flammang and has 35 members who, through their dynamism, enliven the life of the club and shine out in our community.

We inherit a long and distinguished history of service that dates back to 1917, when the Lions Clubs International began with the dream of Melvin Jones, a man who worked in insurance in Chicago.

Melvin Jones was convinced that local business circles needed to broaden their scope and, instead of focusing exclusively on business benefits, consider improving the community and the world at large. Melvin Jones' own group, the Business Circle of Chicago, agreed with him.

Similar groups were notified across the country and an organisational meeting was held on 7 June 1917 at the LaSalle Hotel in Chicago, Illinois, USA. The new group took the name of one of the groups that had come, "The Association of Lions Clubs", and a national convention was held in Dallas, Texas, USA in October of that year.

Thirty-six delegates representing 22 clubs from nine US states were present. The assembly began to define the future of the association and approved a constitution, by-laws, objects and rules of conduct. Since that time, Lions have volunteered their time and talents to meet needs wherever they arise.

Lions are particularly dedicated to the work of the blind and visually impaired, having made this commitment when Helen Keller asked members to become her "knights of the blind in a crusade against darkness" during the 1925 convention at Cedar Point, Ohio, USA.

Our motto "We Serve, We Serve" perfectly illustrates the dedication of Lions everywhere.

At our level, we have been working for 50 years to help people in need in the Grand Duchy. With projects such as the Food Bank, support for the Raoul Follereau Foundation, the Télethon, the Vaincre le Cancer Foundation or Sight First at a global level, etc.

The Lions Club Luxembourg International is committed to helping quality social works. Created in 2001 with the help of our club, the Food Bank collects and distributes food to the needy via charities and this exclusively in Luxembourg. Since October 2017, the Banque Alimentaire is recognised as a public utility institution. We can be proud of its success.

The Lions Club Luxembourg-International is twinned with the Lions Club Frankfurt am Main in Germany.

Historique club 

Le Lions Club
Luxembourg International

« 50 ans d’action »

Le Lions Club Luxembourg-International a été créé en 1972 par Marcel Flammang et compte près de 50 membres qui, par leur dynamisme, animent la vie du club et rayonnent dans notre communauté.

Nous héritons d’une longue histoire distinguée de service qui remonte à 1917, lorsque le Lions Clubs International a commencé par le rêve de Melvin Jones, un homme qui travaillait dans les assurances à Chicago.

Melvin Jones était convaincu que les cercles d’affaires locaux devaient élargir leur rayon d’action et, au lieu de se concentrer exclusivement sur les avantages professionnels, envisager d’améliorer la communauté et le monde entier. Le groupe de Melvin Jones lui-même, le Business Circle of Chicago, était du même avis que lui.

Des groupes semblables ont été prévenus à travers le pays et une réunion d’organisation a eu lieu le 7 juin 1917 à l’hôtel LaSalle à Chicago, Illinois, Etats-Unis. Le nouveau groupe a pris le nom d’un des groupes qui étaient venus, « l’Association des Lions Clubs », et un congrès national a eu lieu à Dallas, Texas, Etats-Unis en octobre de la même année.

Trente-six délégués représentant 22 clubs de neufs Etats américains étaient présents. L’assemblée a commencé à définir l’avenir de l’association et a approuvé une constitution, des statuts, des objets et des règles de conduite. Depuis ce moment, les Lions offrent bénévolement de leur temps et de leurs talents, pour répondre aux besoins, là où ils se manifestent.

Les Lions se dévouent tout particulièrement aux œuvres en faveur des personnes non-voyantes ou handicapées de la vue, ayant pris cet engagement lorsque Helen Keller a demandé aux membres de devenir ses « chevaliers des aveugles dans une croisade contre les ténèbres », pendant la convention de 1925 à Cedar Point, Ohio, Etats-Unis.

Notre devise « Nous Servons, We Serve » illustre parfaitement le dévouement des Lions de tous les pays.

A notre niveau, nous œuvrons depuis 50 ans pour aider les personnes dans le besoin au Grand-duché. Avec des projets comme la Banque Alimentaire, le soutien à la Fondation Raoul Follereau, au Télethon, à la Fondation Vaincre le Cancer ou Sight First au niveau mondial, etc.

Le Lions club Luxembourg International s’est engagé à aider des œuvres sociales de qualité. Créée en 2001 avec l’aide de notre club, la Banque Alimentaire collecte et distribue de la nourriture aux démunis via les associations caritatives et ceci exclusivement au Luxembourg. Depuis octobre 2017, la Banque Alimentaire est reconnue comme établissement d’utilité publique. Nous pouvons être fier de sa réussite.

Le Lions Club Luxembourg-International est jumelé avec le Lions Club Frankfurt am Main, en Allemagne.